If you don’t know English history, then William the Conqueror will not be significant to you, but to any English school-child history starts with William the Conk!! He was the last person who invaded England and kids are taught about him as a starting point to English history.

So why am I mentioning him…… well he was around in 1066 – about 1000 years ago, give or take a couple of decades!!

Take a look down my blog and you will find a picture of a ceiling. My ceiling at my new house. The beams in the ceiling date back to the 11th century!! Which is amazing. They are probably 900 years old!

So what’s the story……….

Well, the house was originally built in the 16th century (I will find more exact dates as I do my research) and the beams for the house and barn came from a decommissioned navy ship. Goodness knows where the ship sailed to in it’s life time, possibly the New World or the spice route – who knows. Anyway, when the ship was decommissioned the “scrap” wood was carried up here into the Pennines and became the basis of the beams and wood that was used for alot of the houses.

Now, those ships were made from 300 year old oak. They were probably in commission for 50 or so years, maybe more. So do the maths……… I reckon that my ceiling beams date back to William the Conk!!

More to come…….!!

