It’s been over a year since I decided to come back to Alston to live. And I have no regrets that I decided to come.

I love this place. I love the community here, the nearness of the town, the oldness of the buildings and cobbles and the sense of just being home.

I was worried about coming back as far as the weather is concerned, but so far this year it has been great. We had loads of snow around last Christmas and then since then it has really been quite ok. We have even had days of sun and it’s only April!

Interestingly though, I think that we have had good weather, because one of the assets to the current house I am living in is that it has a sunroom. And it is a well placed sunroom. It gets the sun from early morning to late afternoon. And even if it is windy and a little drizzly, the sunroom warms up quickly and is a lovely place to work on my computer.

I have just planted a tomato plant in here, and basil, parsley and coriander. I hope my gardening skills are up to it.

Location:Alston, Cumbria

